First Game Design (Part 2)

Last I left off, I was designing a basic scene with a ground, building and first-person camera. Starting back from there I made a few leaps forward which I’ll go over to the best of my ability.

Initially, I did get rid of the ground plane and replaced in with the terrain model. This was not something I was expecting to do, but as I mentioned in Part 1, I am loosely following along with a YouTube tutorial series which did the same thing. I assume this was done to illustrate the skill, and the same process was done to texture the terrain.capture3

**The terrain will be much larger, much, much larger than the plane, so try to zoom out in order to center any preexisting structures if it’s not the first thing implemented into a scene.

Capture4.PNGUpon adding a terrain, you are given some new tools specific to the terrain such as manipulation and painting tools. With these you are able to create ridges, hills, mountains or valleys to your hearts desire. Along with this customization, you have the ability to choose different brush styles, set the size and opacity (how much detail to put forth per click). Be careful when you are clicking. I found that sometimes when I clicked, more and more detail was piled on than intended. Ctrl + Z will become your best friend during the terrain manipulation stages.

capture9Something else nice about the terrain is that it allows you to place multiple textures onto its surface, and allows overlapping. To add textured, click on the paintbrush option in the Terrain and go to the edit Textures, then add Texture. It will prompt 2 slots: Normal and Splat, to get a clean solid texture, drag the desired texture into both of these slots. You can mix and match to get unique looking textures.

The water drop over the mountain tab is smoothing. This will allow you to smooth out any rough edges you may not want on the hills or mountain s you’ve created. Again, keep Ctrl + Z handy.

Finally, after my terrain was manipulated to my liking and textured to satisfaction, I added water. This is done similarly to how the terrain was added in via the Assets folder. Once downloaded and working in the program, water disk can be dragged into the scene. This picture will illustrate the folders to search through to locate the model:Capture6.PNG

Once the water was in place, the only thing left to do was change the dimensions to encompass the entire area I wished the water to cover. Once that is settled, raise or lower the water to the height you wish it to be and then explore!

By play testing at this point, it allows you to see if the terrain is to your liking, if you missed any spots or have any problem bumps, shadows or holes in the map. I did have issue with some shadows being in the wrong areas and had to add extra bumps and hills then smooth them out to get it to look proper. One issue I’m sure I’ll figure out later is that the water, no matter how ‘thick’ you make the dimensions, will be a single layer and will not have water effects if you walk into and under the surface.

Well, that’s all for now! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

