First Game Design (Part 1)

Anytime you start a new project, challenges are sure to present themselves in unexpected ways. I’m going to be showing you my first basic game design here and explain the challenges and tips and tricks I learned along the way. I will mention that I am roughly following along with a YouTube tutorial series from Jimmy Vegas. I would highly recommend you check him out.

As you can probably tell by some of the screen shots to follow, I am working in Unity. If you have not yet opened this program…here is a first look at some simple object creation and positioning.

game-design-new-project

To start, I will creating a simple scene and expanding from there. As most scenes begin, the ground should be established with a plane then stretched using the scale option on the right side of the screen to fit the desired size. To start, I’ve found that a smaller ground area is better until the size of the scene is determined.3D Object Selection.PNG

Once that was established, I created some walls along with an empty object which was used to combined the walls into a unified object. This allows for you to move all of the walls together as a single object rather than dragging each one and having to realign them.

Once the scene is built, it’s time to establish textures in order to give the scene some life. My favorite texture site to use, which I found during my exploration with Blender is Poliigon. By registering , you get 50 free textures along with all the ones that are designated to be free.

After finding the textures I wanted to use, I set up each object with a different material. I did find however that setting up the textures and materials, Unity registered the materials as normal maps. In order to get just the color to show rather than an actual texture. I moved the textures into a new ‘texture’ folder and drug them directly onto the objects.

**Find images which are able to repeat or are ‘seamless’. This way, the textures look more natural.

capture5Once the textures are placed, it will create a new material which is automatically applied to the object. The last bit to do in order to inspect the scene fully is to add a movable character into the scene. This is done by adding in a new Asset, and importing the Character asset. This may take several minutes, but once added, you can add in a first person camera to explore the scene!

I’ll be sure to post more, just as soon as I get further along with the project.

2 thoughts on “First Game Design (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

